Faculty and Graduate Students Recognized at the 2018 American Musicological Society Annual Meeting

Seth Brodsky
November 9, 2018

The Department of Music is delighted to share the wonderful news that our faculty and graduate students were recognized at the 2018 Annual Meeting of the American Musicological Society in San Antonio for winning major awards and fellowships.

Seth Brodsky won the Lewis Lockwood Award for this book From 1989, or European Music and the Modernist Unconscious (University of California Press, 2017). The Lockwood Award honors a musicological book of exceptional merit published during the previous year by a scholar in the early stages of his or her career. 

Jessica Peritz received the Paul A. Pisk Prize for her paper “Luigia Todi’s Timbre: The Enlightening ‘Social Utility’ of Female Voice in 1790s Italy.” The Pisk Prize is awarded each year to a graduate music student for a scholarly paper presented at the Society’s Annual Meeting.

Both Jessica Peritz and Tommaso Sabbatini were given formal recognition as recipients of the Alvin H. Johnson AMS 50 Dissertation Fellowship.

Congratulations all around for bringing honor and distinction to our Department!