University Symphony Orchestra with Yoojin Jang, violin

Yoojin Jang sits holding a violin

December 7, 2019 | 8:00PM
Mandel Hall

Acclaimed violinist YooJin Jang– praised for her “fiery virtuosity”, “spellbinding passagework,” and “impeccable intonation” – joins the University Symphony to present Erich Wolfgang Korngold’s richly romantic Violin Concerto in D Major, filled with echoes of the composer’s film scores as well as touches of Mahler and Strauss.  Dmitry Kabalevsky’s Colas Breugnon Overture provides a flamboyant opening to the program, and Johannes Brahms’ masterful Symphony No. 2 in D Major – a cornerstone of the orchestral repertoire – furnishes an undeniably compelling, deeply nuanced, and ultimately triumphant close.

Donations at door: $10 / $5 students & children