University Symphony Orchestra with the Jade Chinese Music Ensemble

USO string musicians

April 20, 2024 | 8:00PM
Logan Center Performance Hall

A chamber ensemble drawn from the larger University Symphony Orchestra joins forces with the Jade Chinese Music Ensemble for a very special concert that explores the intersection of two very different musical and cultural traditions. Jade Ensemble members Yini Sun, erhu, and Yuchen Zhou, guzheng, will be featured in Wu Houyuan’s Red Plum Capriccio and Zhanhao He’s The Eternal Sorrow of Lin’an, both scored for traditional Chinese instruments and western chamber orchestra. A selection of smaller chamber works, again combining the musical instruments and artistic idioms of East and West, rounds out this fascinating program. 

Free admission

This concert will be livestreamed here on our website and on the Department of Music’s YouTube channel.

Watch the Livestream!