CSO Chamber Music at the University of Chicago

CSO Chamber Music at the University of Chicago

October 8, 2023 | 3:00PM
Mandel Hall

Music in the Vernacular

Stravinsky: Concertino for String Quartet
Dvořák: String Quartet No. 14 in A-flat Major Op. 105
Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence

Rong-Yan Tang, violin
Cornelius Chiu, violin
Youming Chen, viola
Diane Mues, viola
Daniel Katz, cello
Richard Hirschl, cello

The Chicago Symphony Orchestra responds to Professor Steven Rings’ prompt to explore music of the vernacular. In this chamber music program, musicians from the CSO take on Stravinsky’s Concertino, written while he was living in a fishing village in France; Dvořák’s String Quartet No. 14 featuring a lively syncopation related to a Czech stomping dance, and Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence with distinctly Russian folk-like melodies.

$30 | $20 under 35 | $10 Students