Students win Departmental scholarships and awards

Dear friends: 

I am pleased to announce the following internal scholarships and awards for students in the Department of Music, graduate and undergraduate:

Franke Institute for the Humanities Dissertation-Year Fellowship for 2012-13

  • Melissa Bilal

Mellon Foundation–University of Chicago Dissertation-Year Fellowships for 2012-13

  • Jonathan De Souza
  • Dylan Schneider

Department of Music Visiting Committee Dissertation Scholarships for 2012-13

  • Trent Leipert
  • Lillian Wohl

Department of Music Swift Endowment Dissertation Scholarships for 2012-13

  • Rachel Adelstein
  • Hyunree Cho
  • Alisha Lola Jones
  • Michelle Urberg
  • Melanie Zeck

Travel study awards from the Department of Music Laura Campbell Rhind Fund went to:

  • Mary Channen Caldwell
  • Melanie Zeck

Further Department of Music Travel Study Awards went to the following students:

  • Iddo Aharony
  • Shawn Allison
  • Chelsea Burns
  • Andrés Carrizo
  • Andrew Cashner
  • Genevieve Dempsey
  • Will Faber
  • Cesar Favila
  • Mike Figueroa
  • Andy Greenwood
  • Rehanna Khesghi
  • Kathryn Lesko
  • Andrew McManus
  • Marcelle Pierson
  • Ana Sanchez-Rojo
  • Dylan Schneider
  • Phil Taylor
  • Miriam Tripaldi
  • Claudio Vellutini

Humanities Division dissertation research grants were awarded to:

  • Trent Leipert
  • Lillian Wohl

UndergraduateS received special prizes as follows:

Leonard Meyer Award

Oliver McDonald

Paul and Olga Menn Prize

Alex Stephenson

Undergraduate BA honors were awarded to:

  • Coby Ashpis - musicology
  • Stephanie Avalos-Bock - composition
  • Samuel Kalcheim - composition
  • Claire Kim - composition
  • Lucy Little - musicology
  • Oliver McDonald - ethnomusicology
  • Alex Stephenson - composition

Congratulations to all these students in the Music Department!

Best wishes for a wonderful summer,