Department garners recognitions at Society for Ethnomusicology conference

The Society for Ethnomusicology (SEM) had its 60th annual conference this past weekend in Austin, Texas, and Chicago was the recipient of several noteworthy honors and awards.

The JaFran Jones Award is given for the best student paper delivered at the 2015 Midwest Chapter of the Society for Ethnomusicology in October. Graduate students Mili Leitner won the award and Joseph Maurer received an honorable mention.

The Bruno Nettl Prize is awarded by the SEM “to recognize an outstanding publication contributing to or dealing with the history of the field of ethnomusicology." This year it was presented to Professor Philip Bohlman for his editing of The Cambridge History of World Music.

The SEM also elected Associate Professor Travis Jackson to their Board of Directors, where he will serve as First Vice-President for a two-year term.

Congratulations to all!