Anne Robertson elected into American Philosophical Society

The Music Department is proud to share that its current Chair and Claire Dux Swift Distinguished Service Professor, Anne W. Robertson, has been elected as a member of the revered American Philosophical Society, considered the United States' first learned society and an important cultural and intellectual influence since its inception in 1743 by Benjamin Franklin.

This is certainly one of the most prestigious recognitions that an academic can receive, and this year the University of Chicago was honored to have three members of its faculty elected to the society's ranks. In addition to Robertson, Glenn Most and Rosanna Warren were also included.  She joins a very slim group of eminent musicologists who have been invited to join over the centuries (that group also includes the Department's Robert W. Reneker Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus Philip Gossett). 

Congratulations, Anne!