People

Department Contact:

Main Office: 773.702.8484
Fax: 773.753.0558
Library: 773.702.8445

Faculty: 

Email, Phone, Office:

Easley Blackwood
Professor Emeritus

773.702.8484
GoH 309

Philip V. Bohlman
Mary Werkman Distinguished Service Professor

boh6@uchicago.edu
773.702.0514
GoH 211

Amy Briggs
Director, Chamber Music

amybriggs@uchicago.edu
Logan 405

Seth Brodsky
Assistant Professor; Director of Undergraduate Studies

seths@uchicago.edu
773.702.5909
GoH 405

Melvin L. Butler
Assistant Professor

mlbutler@uchicago.edu
773.702.3499
GoH 301

Anthony Cheung
Assistant Professor

acheung@uchicago.edu
773.702.9055
GoH 113

Thomas Christensen
Avalon Foundation Professor; Associate Dean and Master of the Humanities Collegiate Division

tchriste@uchicago.edu
773.702.8030
HM 230

John Eaton
Professor Emeritus

johneaton1@earthlink.net
not in residence

Martha Feldman
Mabel Greene Myers Professor

rore@uchicago.edu
773.702.8697
GoH 318

Philip Gossett
Robert W. Reneker Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus

phgs@uchicago.edu
773.955.3738
WB 402

Berthold Hoeckner
Associate Professor

bhoeckne@uchicago.edu
773.702.7629
GoH 203

Travis A. Jackson
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Admissions

travieso@uchicago.edu
773.834.1933
GoH 302

James Kallembach
Senior Lecturer in Music; Director of Choral Activities

kallemba@uchicago.edu
773.702.6063
Cobb 429

Robert L. Kendrick
Professor of Music

rkendric@uchicago.edu
773.834.8229
GoH 314

Phillip Kloeckner
Lecturer in Music

pdk@uchicago.edu
773.702.9847
GoH 111

Kaley Reid Mason
Assistant Professor

krmason@uchicago.edu
773.702.8668
GoH 201

Drew F. Nobile
Lecturer in Music Theory

nobile@uchicago.edu
773.702.8009
GoH 308

Marta Ptaszynska
Helen B. and Frank L. Sulzberger Professor

mptaszyn@uchicago.edu
773.702.8663
GoH 206

Shulamit Ran
Andrew MacLeish Distinguished Service Professor

sran@uchicago.edu
773.702.3072
GoH 401

Don Michael Randel
Professor Emeritus; President Emeritus; Honorary Trustee of the University

dr@mellon.org
212.500.2550
not in residence

Steven Rings
Associate Professor; Director of Graduate Studies

srings@uchicago.edu
773.702.8577
GoH 304

Anne Walters Robertson
Claire Dux Swift Distinguished Service Professor; Chair, Department of Music

awrx@uchicago.edu
773.702.8500
GoH 313

Howard Sandroff
Senior Lecturer; Director, Computer Music Studio

sndf@uchicago.edu
773.834.4402
GoH 210

Barbara Schubert
Senior Lecturer; Director of Performance Programs

b-schubert@uchicago.edu
773.702.7628
GoH 403; LC 217B

Augusta Read Thomas
University Professor

arthomas@uchicago.edu
773.834.9935
GoH 202

Lawrence Zbikowski
Associate Professor; Deputy Provost for the Arts

larry@uchicago.edu
773.702.8500
GoH 207

back to top

Performance Program Directors:

E-mail, Phone, Office:

Svetlana Belsky
Director, Piano Program

svetlana24@yahoo.com
773.702.8484
LC 405

Mwata Bowden
Director, Jazz X-tet

mbowden@uchicago.edu
773.702.8484
GoH 309

Amy Briggs
Director, Chamber Music

amybriggs@uchicago.edu
Logan 405

Cliff Colnot
Conductor, Contempo

312.573.2215

Chip De Stefano
Director, University Wind Ensemble

cdestefano@uchicago.edu
773.702.8484
GoH 309

James Kallembach
Director, Choral Activities

kallemba@uchicago.edu
773.702.6063
Cobb 429

Patrice Michaels
Director, Vocal Studies

pmichaels@uchicago.edu
773.702.8484
GoH 309

Minu Pasupathi
Director, South Asian Vocal Ensemble

minup@uchicago.edu
773.702.8484
GoH 309

Barbara Schubert
Director, Performance Program;
Conductor, University Symphony Orchestra; Director, New Music Ensemble

b-schubert@uchicago.edu
773.702.7628
GoH 403; LC 217B

Matthew Sheppard
Director, University Chamber Orchestra

 

Mollie Stone
Assistant Director, Choral Activities

molliestone@uchicago.edu

Wanees Zarour
Director, Middle East Music Ensemble

wbz@uchicago.edu
773.702.8484
GoH 309

back to top

Music Affiliated Postdoctoral Fellows:

E-mail, Phone, Office:

Jonathan Lee
Collegiate Assistant Professor, Humanities

jonathanrlee@uchicago.edu
773.702.0512
Gates-Blake 332

Karl Swinehart
Collegiate Assistant Professor, Humanities

swinehart@uchicago.edu
773.702.8563
Gates-Blake 437

back to top

Departmental Staff:

E-mail, Phone, Office:

Rashida N. Black
Director of Public Relations

rashida@uchicago.edu
773.702.3427
LC 217

Melanie A. Cloghessy
Chair's Assistant; Reception

cloghess@uchicago.edu
773.702.8484
GoH 309

Peter Gillette
Graduate Program Assistant

ptgillette@uchicago.edu
773.702.2089
GoH 303

Matthew Hess
Department Coordinator

hessmb@uchicago.edu
773.702.2120
GoH 310

James M. Hillis
Director of Production and Education, University of Chicago Presents

jhillis@uchicago.edu
773.702.0971
5720 S. Woodlawn

Amy Iwano
Executive Director, University of Chicago Presents

iwano@uchicago.edu
773.702.1233
5720 S. Woodlawn

Scott Landvatter
Bibliographer for Music

slandvat@uchicago.edu
773.702.8447
JRL 362

Paige Lucas
Musical Performance Program Coordinator

paigelu@uchicago.edu
773.702.9075
GoH 403

Ken Orgel
Piano Technician

orgel@kopiano.com
Not listed
Not in residence

Beth Parker
Coordinator, Center for Italian Opera Studies

parkeropera@uchicago.edu
773.702.9148
5720 S. Woodlawn

D. Luke Ramus
Music Department Webmaster and IT Support

dramus@uchicago.edu
773.834.3383
GoH 309

Jacqueline Skara
Assistant to the Department Coordinator

jskara@uchicago.edu
773.834.3392
GoH 310

Claire Snarski
Graphic Designer

csnarski@uchicago.edu
773.834.3927
LC 217

back to top

Graduate Students

A list of current students, and information on their interests, is maintained by the Graduate Music Society.

back to top