2015 UChicago Department of Music Student Award Recipients Announced

Ten University of Chicago Department of Music students will receive awards for outstanding musical achievement during the 2015 annual Cathy Heifetz Memorial Concerts with the University Symphony Orchestra, University Chorus, and Motet Choir on Saturday, May 30 at 8:00 PM and Sunday, May 31 at 3:00 PM in Mandel Hall.

Yiding Hao, Thomas Liao, and Casen Ross received the David L. Fulton Prize for Orchestral Excellence. Julianna Han, Aaron Hollander, Anabel Maler, and Caroline Wong received the Ellis Bonoff Kohs Award for Orchestral Excellence. Amanda Block received the Award for Choral Leadership and Ji Su Kang received the Choral Award for Musical Achievement. This year’s Heifetz Memorial Award recipient is Marcelle Pierson, PhD candidate in Music History and Theory with a minor field in composition.

The Cathy Heifetz Memorial Award was established to commemorate the life and honor the memory of Cathy Heifetz (1949-1976), who came to The University of Chicago in 1973 as a student in the Department of Music. The Memorial’s first endowment created an annual award to honor a student in the Department of Music whose associations as a member of this community have been singularly marked by a spirit of caring and helpfulness.

The 2015 Cathy Heifetz Concert program will showcase two works by Ralph Vaughn Williams. University of Chicago voice faculty Patrice Michaels, soprano, and Jeffrey Ray, baritone, are featured soloists on Vaughn Williams’ 1936 cantata Dona Nobis Pacem. With texts drawn from the Latin Mass, three poems by Walt Whitman, a political speech, and sections of the Bible, Vaughan Williams’ creation was an explicit plea for peace that referred to recent wars amidst growing fears of a new one. The University Symphony rounds out the program with Vaughn Williams’ enigmatic Norfolk Rhapsody No. 1, and Edward Elgar’s risqué and picturesque Cockaigne (In London Town) Overture. Barbara Schubert and James Kallembach share the podium for this collaborative concert.

Admission to the Heifetz Concerts is free, with donations accepted at the door ($10 general / $5 students). For more information, call 773.702.8069 or visit music.uchicago.edu. Mandel Hall is located at 1131 E. 57th Street in Hyde Park, Chicago.